On October 1, while preparing for the onslaught of Hurricane Matthew which never arrived, I created this blog.  I was able to upload the first post on October 7 which featured author Judith Hamilton’s children’s book School-House A Jamaican Story.

I would like to thank all those who allowed me to tell their stories.  It has been a rich learning experience for me.  I would also like to thank those who took time out to post comments and likes. I have to single out my good friend Colette Garrick whose story was shared in my third post.  She shared it on both her business and personal Facebook pages.  There were glowing reviews on these pages and the traffic to the blog shot up exponentially.  Colette also purchased products from Pizzaland and Kande’s Delights as a result of reading these posts.

I have seen blog traffic from Africa, Europe, North America, Asia and the Caribbean.  Interestingly, the blog on Kande’s Delights attracted the attention of some foreign food bloggers.  I went on the blog of one such blogger and found a post that she wrote about living in Romania as a child. Her family would put green bananas to ripen in the cupboard for a week.  She prematurely tasted a raw green banana and it was not pleasant.  I was able to share with her that we in Jamaica both boil our green bananas as well as cut them up, fry and eat as chips.  She was most appreciative of my sharing these methods with her.

Facebook which has at times gotten a bad rap for a variety of reasons, has accounted for approximately 72% of page views.

There are quite a few stories that I am working on.  I will share with you in the near future.  Please continue your support. Thank you.

 

(c) A. Pierre Sobers 2016

 

 

